Marvel Movies in Chronological Order: How to Watch the MCU in the Right Order

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is one of the most expansive film franchises in the world, with over 20 films released to date. Understanding how to watch them in the right order is important because the movies are interconnected, and missing a single film can lead to confusion.

The MCU began in 2008 with Iron Man, and since then, the universe has expanded to include a vast array of superheroes, intergalactic conflicts, and world-ending threats. With so many movies, it can be difficult to know where to start and how to watch them in the right order. To help you get started, we’ve created a chronological list of Marvel movies.

1. Captain America: The First Avenger (1942-1943)
The first movie chronologically in the MCU is Captain America: The First Avenger, which takes place in the 1940s. It introduces us to Steve Rogers, who becomes a superhero after being injected with a super serum, and his fight against Red Skull, the leader of HYDRA.

2. Agent Carter (1946)
Agent Carter is a TV series that follows Peggy Carter, a member of the Strategic Scientific Reserve (SSR), as she works to take down HYDRA and other threats to global security in the years following World War II.

3. Captain Marvel (1995)
Captain Marvel is set in 1995 and introduces Carol Danvers, who becomes the most powerful hero in the MCU. The movie provides important context for the later films and introduces the Kree and Skrull races, who play important roles in future movies.

4. Iron Man (2010)
The first movie in the MCU, Iron Man, introduces us to Tony Stark, a genius inventor and billionaire playboy who creates a suit of high-tech armor to become a superhero after being kidnapped by terrorists.

5. Iron Man 2 (2011)
In the sequel to Iron Man, Tony Stark faces a new enemy in the form of Ivan Vanko, who creates his own suit of armor and seeks revenge against Stark and his father.

6. The Incredible Hulk (2011)
The Incredible Hulk is loosely connected to the MCU and tells the story of Bruce Banner, a scientist who transforms into a powerful monster whenever he gets angry.

7. Thor (2011)
Thor is the first movie in the MCU to introduce us to the Norse god of thunder, who is cast out of Asgard and must learn humility and sacrifice to regain his power and defeat his brother Loki.

8. The Avengers (2012)
The Avengers brings together Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, Hulk, Black Widow, and Hawkeye to face off against Loki and his army, who are intent on conquering Earth.

9. Iron Man 3 (2013)
In Iron Man 3, Tony Stark faces off against a new enemy in the form of the Mandarin, a terrorist who has a personal vendetta against him.

10. Thor: The Dark World (2013)
In the sequel to Thor, the god of thunder must team up with his brother Loki to defeat Malekith, the leader of the Dark Elves who seeks to destroy the universe.

11. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
Captain America faces off against his old friend Bucky Barnes, who has been brainwashed and turned into a deadly assassin known as the Winter Soldier.

12. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
Guardians of the Galaxy introduces us to a rag-tag team of intergalactic misfits who must band together to save the galaxy from Ronan the Accuser.

13. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
In the sequel to Guardians of the Galaxy, the team faces off against a new threat while also uncovering secrets about Star-Lord’s past.

14. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
The Avengers must face off against Ultron, a rogue artificial intelligence program created by Tony Stark, who seeks to destroy humanity.

15. Ant-Man (2015)
Ant-Man introduces us to Scott Lang, a thief who becomes a superhero after stealing a high-tech suit that allows him to shrink in size but increase in strength.

16. Captain America: Civil War (2016)
Captain America and Iron Man face off against each other, with the rest of the Avengers caught in the middle, over their different views on how to protect the world.

17. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
Spider-Man: Homecoming introduces us to Peter Parker, a high school student who becomes Spider-Man and must balance his superhero duties with his everyday life.

18. Doctor Strange (2016)
Doctor Strange tells the origin story of the Sorcerer Supreme, who must learn to harness his mystical powers and defend the Earth from magical threats.

19. Black Panther (2018)
Black Panther introduces us to Wakanda, a highly advanced African nation ruled by T’Challa, the Black Panther, who must defend his people from outside threats.

20. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
In the final movie in the Thor trilogy, the god of thunder must face off against his sister Hela, the goddess of death, to save Asgard from destruction.

21. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
The Avengers must face off against their biggest threat yet in Thanos, who seeks to collect all six Infinity Stones and wipe out half of all life in the universe.

22. Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
In the sequel to Ant-Man, Scott Lang teams up with Hope van Dyne, who becomes the Wasp, to save her mother from the quantum realm.

23. Captain Marvel (2019)
Captain Marvel tells the origin story of Carol Danvers, who becomes the most powerful hero in the MCU and helps the Avengers fight against Thanos.

24. Avengers: Endgame (2019)
In the epic conclusion to the Infinity Saga, the Avengers must go back in time to collect the Infinity Stones and defeat Thanos once and for all.

Knowing the right order to watch the Marvel movies in can greatly enhance the experience and provide a better understanding of the complex, interconnecting storylines. So, grab your favorite snacks, settle in for a marathon, and enjoy the ride through the MCU.