The Ultimate Guide to Watching Marvel Movies in Chronological Order

Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has been entertaining fans for over a decade with its thrilling superhero movies. With over 23 movies released so far, it can be overwhelming to figure out where to start watching or what order to follow. That’s why we have prepared the ultimate guide to watching Marvel movies in chronological order. This chronological order takes into account not only the release dates of the movies but also the chronological order of the events that occur in the Marvel universe.

Here is the chronological order of the movies:

1. Captain America: The First Avenger (1942-1945)

This movie is set during World War II and tells the story of Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) who becomes the first Super Soldier, Captain America, after being injected with a special serum. The movie takes place before the events of Iron Man.

2. Iron Man (2010)

The first movie in the MCU, Iron Man, introduces us to Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.), a billionaire industrialist who uses his wealth and intelligence to create a high-tech suit to fight crime.

3. The Incredible Hulk (2011)

The Incredible Hulk is set after the events of Iron Man, and introduces us to Dr. Bruce Banner (Edward Norton) who tries to find a cure for his condition which transforms him into a giant green monster, the Hulk.

4. Iron Man 2 (2011)

Iron Man 2 takes place six months after the events of the first Iron Man movie, and introduces us to villain Ivan Vanko, also known as Whiplash (Mickey Rourke).

5. Thor (2011)

Thor tells the story of the god of thunder, Thor (Chris Hemsworth), who is banished from Asgard to Earth and has to learn how to become worthy of his hammer.

6. The Avengers (2012)

The Avengers is a culmination of all the previously released Marvel movies and brings together Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, the Hulk, and other heroes to fight off an alien invasion led by Loki (Tom Hiddleston).

7. Iron Man 3 (2013)

Set after the events of The Avengers, Iron Man 3 sees Tony Stark struggling with PTSD after the events of the first Avengers movie, and also introduces us to the villainous Mandarin (Ben Kingsley).

8. Thor: The Dark World (2013)

The second Thor movie sees him battling Malekith (Christopher Eccleston) and the dark elves to save the universe from destruction.

9. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

Captain America: The Winter Soldier sees Steve Rogers (now played by Chris Evans) becoming embroiled in a conspiracy involving S.H.I.E.L.D, and also introduces us to the eponymous Winter Soldier (Sebastian Stan).

10. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

Guardians of the Galaxy introduces us to a group of misfits, including Peter Quill (Chris Pratt) and Gamora (Zoe Saldana), who team up to stop a powerful threat from destroying the universe.

11. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)

Set a few months after the events of the first movie, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 sees the team battling new threats and discovering the truth about Peter Quill’s father.

12. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

The Avengers are back, and this time they face a new threat in the shape of artificial intelligence gone rogue, with the villainous Ultron (James Spader) seeking to destroy humanity.

13. Ant-Man (2015)

Ant-Man sees Scott Lang (Paul Rudd) teaming up with Dr. Hank Pym (Michael Douglas) to become the superhero Ant-Man and steal a powerful suit from his rival, Darren Cross (Corey Stoll).

14. Captain America: Civil War (2016)

Captain America: Civil War sees the Avengers divided, with Captain America leading a faction opposed to superhero registration, while Iron Man and others support it.

15. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

Spider-Man: Homecoming sees Peter Parker (Tom Holland) dealing with the challenges of high school while also fighting off the villainous Vulture (Michael Keaton).

16. Doctor Strange (2016)

Doctor Strange tells the story of neurosurgeon Stephen Strange (Benedict Cumberbatch) who becomes a master of the mystical arts to protect the world from dark forces.

17. Black Panther (2018)

Black Panther sees T’Challa (Chadwick Boseman) becoming the king of Wakanda after his father’s death, and also facing off against the villainous Killmonger (Michael B. Jordan).

18. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

Thor: Ragnarok sees Thor and the Hulk teaming up to stop the evil Hela (Cate Blanchett) from taking over Asgard and destroying the universe.

19. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

Avengers: Infinity War sees the Avengers joining forces with the Guardians of the Galaxy to stop the villainous Thanos (Josh Brolin) from obtaining all the Infinity Stones and wiping out half the universe.

20. Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)

Ant-Man and The Wasp takes place before the events of Avengers: Infinity War and sees Scott Lang teaming up with Hope van Dyne (Evangeline Lilly) to find her mother from the quantum realm.

21. Captain Marvel (2019)

Set in the 1990s, Captain Marvel introduces us to Carol Danvers (Brie Larson), a former U.S. Air Force pilot who becomes a superhero and gets involved in a war between two alien races.

22. Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Avengers: Endgame is the epic conclusion of the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s Infinity Saga, and sees the Avengers teaming up for one last time to undo the damage caused by Thanos in Infinity War.

23. Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

Spider-Man: Far From Home sees Peter Parker going on a school trip to Europe, which is interrupted by the appearance of a new villain, Mysterio (Jake Gyllenhaal).

Watching Marvel movies in chronological order can be an amazing experience, as it allows you to experience the events of the MCU in a more cohesive and immersive way. So grab some popcorn, sit back, and enjoy the ride!